Maryland Restrictions On Teenage Drivers

“State laws place restrictions on teenage drivers in Maryland. In 2005 and again in the 2009 Session of the Maryland General Assembly try to address the increasing risks to teens and the public by passing new driving laws in Maryland. These apply to all drivers under age 18, regardless of when they received their learner’s permit or provisional driver’s license. These restrictions were designed in response to an increase in teen car crashes and are expected to give teens more experience driving with fewer distractions.

The laws are as follows:

“” A new driver must hold a learner’s permit for at least 6 months before applying for a provisional license. (This is an increase from 4 months) “” A new driver must complete at least 60 hours of driving practice with someone at least age 21 who has held a driver’s license for 3 years or more. (This is an increase from a minimum of 40 hours) “” At least 10 of the practice driving hours must occur at night. “” Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from talking on cell phones while driving. “” For the first 5 months with a provisional license, drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from driving other minors unless they are direct family members or accompanied by an adult. “” In October 2008, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration will begin notifying the parents or guardians of a minor who receives a citation for any moving violation “” A minor will be required to obtain a learner’s permit before they get behind the wheel, even under the supervision of a driving instructor. The permit validation date will be extended and can be valid for up to two years after the date of issuance “” Drivers under the age of 18 and drivers with learner’s permits or intermediate licenses are prohibited from using cell phones. “” Text messaging is prohibited for all drivers, effective Oct. 1.”

Comments