Tag Archives: Talbot County Free Library

MENTAL HEALTH

May 22 – MENTAL HEALTH FIRST AID 6pm. Easton branch-Talbot County Free Library. 410-822-1626.

ORPHAN TRAIN

May 19 – ORPHAN TRAIN book discussion. 6:30pm. Easton branch-Talbot County Free Library. 410-822-1626.

ROMEO & JULIET

May 3 – ROMEO & JULIET movie. 2pm. Easton branch, Talbot County Free Library. 410-822-1626.

Washington College Writer-in-Residence to Read at Library

Meredith-Davies-HadawayWriter-in-Residence to Read at Library 

On Monday, May 12, at 6:00 p.m., in the Easton branch of the Talbot County Free Library, Meredith Davies Hadaway will give a reading of her award-winning poetry.  Hadaway is the author of three books of verse: “The River is a Reason” (2011), “Fishing Secrets of the Dead” (2005), and the forthcoming “At the Narrows” (2015).   The recipient of multiple Pushcart nominations and two fellowships from the Virginia Center for Creative Arts, Hadaway has also won a Maryland State Arts Council Individual Artist Award.  She was a featured poet at Charleston’s Spoleto Festival in 2012.  Her poems and book reviews appear in numerous journals—most recently “Nimrod,” “Passages North,” and the “McNeese Review.”  She also serves as poetry editor for “The Summerset Review.”  This summer Hadaway will be a contributor at the inaugural Bread Loaf Orion Environmental Writers Conference.  She is the current Rose O’Neill Writer-in-Residence at Washington College.

All library programs are free and open to the public.  Patrons do not need to pre-register to attend Hadaway’s reading.  For more information, call the library at 410-822-1626, or visit www.tcfl.org.

St. Michaels Library to Show Oscar-Nominated Film

On Tuesday, May 13, at noon, the St. Michaels branch of the Talbot County Free Library will offer a free screening of the Oscar-nominated film “Saving Mr. Banks.”  Patrons are invited to bring their lunch and watch Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks in the starring roles.  Released last year, “Saving Mr. Banks” is rated PG-13.  All library programs are free and open to the public.  Patrons do not need to pre-register for this program.  For more information, call the library at 410-745-5877, or visit www.tcfl.org.

 

 

 

 

 

MIGRATORY BIRD DAY

Apr 26 – CELEBRATE INTERNATIONAL MIGRATORY BIRD DAY 10am-3pm. Easton branch, Talbot County Free Library. 410-822-1626.

History of Maryland’s Infamous at Talbot Library

Jeff_KormanHistory of Maryland’s Infamous at Talbot Library

Maryland’s history is full of famous people, but on Thursday, May 8, at 6:00 p.m., in the Easton branch of the Talbot County Free Library, Jeff Korman will discuss the Old Line State’s infamous: the crooks and villains who, from time to time, have made Maryland a less than desirable place to live.  Korman was associated with the State Library Resource Center’s Maryland Department for 28 years and managed the department from 1997 through 2013. Now retired, he invites you to spend a tongue-in-cheek evening with him and some of Maryland’s more unsavory characters.  All library programs are free and open to the public.  Patrons do not need to pre-register for this program.  For more information, call the library at 410-822-1626, or visit www.tcfl.org.

Upcoming Talbot County Free Library Events

St. Michaels Library to Screen “Silver Linings Playbook”

On Tuesday, November 12, at noon, the St. Michaels branch of the Talbot County Free Library will offer a free screening of the award-winning film “Silver Linings Playbook.” Released in 2012 and rated R, Jennifer Lawrence won the best actress Oscar for her role in this film; the film’s male lead, Bradley Cooper, was nominated for the best actor Oscar. All library programs are free and open to the public. Patrons are not required to pre-register for these programs. For more information, call the library at 410-745-5877, or visit www.tcfl.org.

Contact: Bill Peak, telephone: 410-745-5877

 
Easton Library to Offer Parent Café
On Thursday, November 14, from 10:00 – 11:30 a.m., the Easton branch of the Talbot County Free Library will offer a “Parent Café” featuring conversation, refreshments, and activities for parents and young children. All library programs are free and open to the public but patrons are asked to pre-register for this program. For more information, call the library at 410-822-1626, or visit www.tcfl.org.

Contact: Rosemary Morris, telephone: 410-822-1626

 
Tom Horton to Discuss “Bay Country” at Library
Noted author, sportsman, and environmentalist Tom Horton will discuss his groundbreaking book of stories and essays “Bay Country” on Thursday night, November 14, at 6:30 p.m., in the Easton branch of the Talbot County Free Library. The New York Times Book Review said that with the publication of this book “Mr. Horton … ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee, and Sigurd Olson won’t be disappointed.” Horton’s presentation will be the second in a series of four programs on the health, history, and life of the Chesapeake Bay that the Talbot County Free Library, in partnership with the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, is hosting in November. Herb Reed, of the University of Maryland Extension Service, Calvert County, will speak at the third program, on Monday, November 18, on the care and maintenance of septic systems; and on Monday night, November 25, the series will conclude with “Story-Tellers of the Bay,” featuring five of the Chesapeake’s finest yarn-spinners: Captains Fred Pomeroy, William Roe, Scott Todd, and Michael Vlahovich, and native Smith Island crab-picker and song-writer Janice Marshall. Each of these programs will take place at 6:30 p.m. in the Easton library. All library programs are free and open to the public. Patrons are not required to pre-register for these programs. For more information, call the library at 410-822-1626, or visit www.tcfl.org.

Contact: Bill Peak, telephone: 410-822-1626